Lana Myers

Office Sought: Justice, 5th District Court of Appeals, Place 4

Employer: The State of Texas



Twitter: @LanaMyers2016



Justice Lana Myers has over 21 years of judicial experience. She was appointed as Justice, 5th District Court of Appeals, Place 4 by Governor Perry on December 2, 2009 and was elected to a six-year term on the Court in 2010. At the time of her appointment, she was serving as Judge of the 203rd Judicial District Court in Dallas County and had presided over this court for nearly fifteen years (January 1, 1995 - December 2, 2009). Justice Myers was the presiding judge of all of the criminal district courts in Dallas County from 1997 - 2000. She also served as Local Administrative District Judge in Dallas County from 2002 - 2004.

Justice Myers is a proven defender of the Constitution and the Rule of Law. She is a conservative judge committed to following the law as written, fairly and consistently. As an appellate justice, she has authored hundreds of legal opinions on civil and criminal appellate issues. As a district judge, she presided over hundreds of trials and thousands of felony cases including capital murder, murder, child abuse, aggravated robbery, aggravated sexual assault, family violence, burglary and drug offenses.

Justice Myers has conservative values and a strong work ethic. Lana was raised to believe that God gave her intelligence and common sense and that it was up to her to work hard to achieve the American dream. She earned her B.F.A. degree from Baylor University magna cum laude in 1976. After graduating from college, she taught art at Floyd Gunn Junior High School in Arlington, Texas before attending law school. She received her J.D. degree from Baylor University School of Law in 1981. She began her legal career at the Dallas County District Attorney's Office where she served as an Assistant District Attorney in the trial division from 1982 - 1994. She was a Chief Felony Prosecutor from 1997 - 1994. As a felony prosecutor, she prosecuted felony offenses including capital murder, murder, child abuse, aggravated sexual assault, aggravated robbery, family violence, burglary, and drug offenses.

Justice Myers has served on numerous committees and boards, including the Texas Supreme Court Task Force to Ensure Judicial Readiness in Times of Emergency (2007), Texas Crime Victims Institute Advisory Council (2008 - 2009), the Dallas County Juvenile Board (2002 - 2004), and Volunteer Center of Dallas County Board of Directors (1994 - 2003). As Co-Chair/Chair of Dallas Bar Association's Mock Trial Committee, she administered Texas and 2007 National High School Mock Trial Competitions, 2000 - 2009. She initiated and presided over S.T.A.R. Court, an innovative specialty court designed to reduce recidivism among female offenders charged with felony prostitution, 2007 - 2009. In 2009, she received the Special Recognition Prism Award from Mental Health America of Greater Dallas for her work with women in S.T.A.R. Court. Justice Myers serves as a member of the Education Committee of the Appellate Judges Education Institute, 2014 - present. She is also a Master in the Patrick E. Higginbotham American Inn of Court and serves on its Executive Committee, 2008 - present.

Justice Myers a past member and officer of Southwest Dallas County Republican Club, Dallas Republican Career Women and Coppell Republican Club. She is a member of Golden Corridor Republican Women and an associate member of Irving Republican Women's Club, Dallas Star Republican Women, Rockwall County Republican Women's Club, Collin County Republican Men's Club and Rockwall County Republican Men's Club. She is also a member of the National Rifle Association.

Justice Myers was born in Dallas and raised in Irving, Texas. She graduated from Irving High School, and received Irving Independent School District's "Outstanding Irving High School Graduate" award in 1989. She is married to David E. Myers, a former teacher and coach at MacArthur High School who, after 35 years of teaching, retired and is now a realtor with Ebby Halliday. They are members of First Baptist Church Dallas.